Day 3

NaNoWriMo Day 3. Um, so scratch that whole socializing = work theory. Day 2 was not a great day for the word count meter, and taught me a new lesson: javabeans is physically incapable of napping. She is physically capable of sleeping the whole night through, but not short, efficient cat-napping.

Well, it’s an old lesson I really ought to have learned by now — nearly a decade of convincing myself I’ll “only take a forty-minute nap” has yielded failure after failure, and yet I refuse to learn. Every time I yawn and look at the clock and think, “a short nap’ll do the trick.” And then I wake up six hours later, feeling refreshed but also very disappointed in self.

I did manage to write a couple hundred words, but they were mostly rearrangements of previously written snippets so I’m not counting them. By the way, this logistics of accurately calculating this whole word count thing is giving me a headache. How do y’all do it? I know it ought to be easy if you’re just writing start to finish, first to last, since you can just do a total word tally and figure out how many new ones have spawned since the last count. (Wouldn’t it be groovy if they all got down and bizzy and reproduced amongst themselves, like rabbits?) But I write out of order — I’ll think of a great bit for a later chapter, and I don’t want to lose it, so I’ll write it immediately. So when time comes to include that bit, I want to be accurate and not count it twice, if it’s been counted in a previous day.

Right now I’ve got a folder full of drafts, and have tried divvying them out to a new Word file a day to keep the word count straight. I am convinced there must be a better way.

I know, I make things more difficult than they need to be. And it’s only Day 3! I’m hoping to crank out a whole mess of words today (and “whole mess” may just be what I get) because I foresee being useless tomorrow — I will try to write, but after I vote (who knows how long that’ll take?) I’ll probably spend the entire day glued to cable news and alternating likkers. If it’s a good day, I’ve got wine at the ready, but the freezer’s stocked with vodka to dull the cold, harsh pain of a bad day.

7 thoughts on “Day 3

  1. ahhh short naps… i wish i could!! the nano site is driving me crazy btw – i need to update my meager wordcount and its just refusing to let me do it *grumble*

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience with us! I was dying to try it this year, but got cold feet at the last minute. Since this is the first year I’ve seriously considered it, I’m not too worried – maybe next year I’ll feel ready for the challenge.

    And I hear you on the incapability of taking a nap – unless I sleep for only 20 minutes, thus not allowing myself to *actually* get to deep sleep, I’ll just sleep through anything I was supposed to do (actually, that hapened today, and the fact that it was raining didn’t help any…)

    Anyway, good luck!

    :)

  3. i’ve given up on naps unless i just dont care, because firstly i sleep very long, and secondly, if i do manage a short one i wake up cranky and ready to smack the first person who says the wrong thing. funny…same thing happens when im hungry. ;)

    i can’t focus today! even though its only been 2 hours of election day in the US! Argh. Future of country, why must you terrorize me so?

    PS: I hope you NEVER have to bring out that vodka.

Leave a Reply

