Day 1

NaNoWriMo Day 1. If we were using a desert island analogy, this is the day I crash-land on my desert wonderland (hey, on Day 1 it’s a wonderland), a little jarred out of complacency and at a loss for where to begin. I gather the remnants of the belongings that washed ashore with me (my jumbled mess of notes and outlines) and try to arrange them into a semblance of coherency. Gather sticks of ideas, try to fashion shelter. Everything collapses. Throw up hands in frustration. Try again. Forage for island resources. Try to think optimistically.

Of course, in the real world, that translates into something like:

Morning: Sit at computer. Eagerly open Word file. Wait for inspiration to strike and my genius to be unleashed.

Very soon thereafter that morning: Ooh, need coffee. Gotta go make some.

Thirty seconds later: Hm, coffeepot needs washing. Sink full of dishes could use washing too.

Five minutes later: Mm, coffeeee. I wonder where this came from. What exactly is an “arabica”? Must google.

Thirty minutes later: Oops, should get back to work.

Thirty seconds later: Dum. Dee. Doo. Novel novel novel. Write write write. Why is page so white? Mocking me with its emptiness, the blinking cursor taunting, like an annoying older sibling hits you in the face with your own hand: Why aren’t you writing yourself? Why aren’t you writing yourself? Why aren’t you writing yourself?

Five minutes later: Whoa, where did the last five minutes go?

Five minutes later: Maybe I should blog first. To get the juices going, y’know.

Thirty minutes later: Dude, I could have written a page in this time. WILL NOT PROCRASTINATE (any more). Ooh, cookies.

13 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Hiya, just wanted to wish you good luck on your Great American Novel. And uhhh waste me some more time ^_^

    Who knew ADD was seasonal?

  2. ahhh i saw your word count go up!!! the cookies and coffee must have worked!
    coffe is indispensable for nanowrimo! (cookies too)

  3. lmao!! love the bit on –>Dum. Dee. Doo. Novel novel novel. Write write write. Why is page so white? Mocking me with its emptiness, the blinking cursor taunting, like an annoying older sibling hits you in the face with your own hand: Why aren’t you writing yourself? Why aren’t you writing yourself? Why aren’t you writing yourself? (It’s so true, damn that blinking cursor!)

    that was basically my morning too, until it hit 12 pm and I was like ‘omg, this weekend if I don’t get SOMETHING written down I’ll never finish!!’ and just kinda typed as much crap that would come to me as much as possible. XDD

  4. @wingstodust,

    Wow, you’ve done great so far!! It may be “crap” but damn you make crap productively. Seriously, your work ethic is awesome!

    My inner voice is telling me, “Just win baby. Pirates vs. Ninjas. PIRATES vs. NINJAS. You must have the precious!” It’s come to this. :(

  5. LOL @ all y’alls.

    Yes, cookies and coffee definitely help. Also helping is the total abandon of any sense of inner literary snob. Write anything, worry about the crapitude later. Crap can be edited into brilliance later, but nothingness gives you, well, nothing.

    Pirates v. Ninjas must be done. MUST BE DONE. (Ninjas win, of course?)

    If we all wrote our books as a compilation of random blog commentry, we’d max out that word count, stat. :)

  6. were you spying on me? haha because that was so me late last night.
    however, must go buy coffee and cookies. i have been waiting all day while running chores for inspiration to strike. now i will just proceed to take a nap and see what happens. ;)

  7. @javabeans,

    “abandon of any sense of inner literary snob.”

    Oh I KNOW!!! My training wants to write the Crying of Lot 49. But my ass would rather write “Cardcaptor Sasuke.” (Magical girls and ninjas battles? Ha. HAHAHAHA. Gawd I feel worse than Elizabeth Wurtzel’s shrink. :( )

  8. @belleza,

    but… Magical girls and ninja battles would be SO FUNNY!! Imagine their disastrous attempts to team up. The gals would twirl in their very showy outfits and the ninjas would die from their horrid lack of stealth. :)

    Or, ya know, Sasuke cosplaying, but that wouldn’t be as fun. (Don’t mind me, I’m just not a big fan of Sasuke, to say the least.)

    *goes back to staring at thing that calls itself a novel but is just crap, really*

  9. I know exactly how you feel on the “procrastination” part…..I still remember my apartment was the cleaniest when I had exams around the corner.

Leave a Reply

